Our Patterns & Who must change – Horse or Human

     Our pattern and routine in approach and tasks helps to reinforce our horses bad behavior and evasion.
We don’t realize how much our horses study us and our actions. The horse is not nearly as distracted as we can be. He spends his time watching us, even when we are unaware. He knows by our behavior and approach what is about to happen, and if he doesn’t want to participate, this can lead to his avoidance. For example, he may avoid the halter in his stall, run when you want to catch him in the field, or move when you try to mount.
     Many times we enter the stall, and try corner him to place the halter. To correct this avoidance, before entering the stall, kiss and get the horse to face you. Never enter a stall if the horse’s rearend is facing the gate. Now enter the stall and change your pattern, don’t always grab the halter first, sometimes just go in and pet him, rub him, look him over and leave. After a short period, ask him to face you again, then go in and halter. By mixing up your pattern, he doesn’t recognize what your intent is, pleasure or work, therefore he has to wait rather than avoid. This works really well for the stall sour horse.
    Most horses enjoy the freedom of the turnout, why would he want to be caught? After the turnout, it usually means work is following. Again, change your pattern. In the field, teach your horse to stop and face you, and allow you to approach and touch him. Keep him guessing, sometimes just pet or inspect him, then turn and leave. Return later, ask him to stop and face you. This time, you may want to groom, or halter and take him for a leisurely walk. This will keep him guessing, maybe work doesn’t always follow turnouts.   
    Dressing him in saddle and tack or pulling out the mounting block means we are going to work. If your ride is always hard work for him, he will soon react with evasion. It becomes a game of cat and mouse, you step up, he moves his hind end away. Change your pattern. Try stepping up on the mounting block, stand there and have him stand with you. He’s waiting for you to tighten the reins, make a motion to reach for the stirrup and swing up. Instead, try rubbing his neck and hind end, now step off the mounting block. Repeat several times. You are creating a new pattern of patience, and he has to wait and see what is next. For those horses that are determined to avoid mounting, you must get him to disengage his hind end, crossing only his back legs, quick, hard and tight around the mounting post, until he softens. Disengaging the hind end around a mounting block is hard work, and it will convince him to stand
and let you mount. 
     Remember your horse knows you better than you think, he’s had a lot of time to study you. Keep him guessing, change your pattern now and then, and he’ll be less likely to anticipate, and avoid. The horse doesn’t have a pattern, he has a reaction to our pattern, thus we must change .  

About brucewiley1274

Hello, this is BW. Have studied and worked under horse trainers/clinicians with different training techniques, and I have developed my own method, which has render positive results for over 15 years. My main goal is to bring about an better understanding with this type of teachings and to help those folks wanting to reach their desired equine performance goals. Other services: Plan your new equine purchase with our consultant services. Boarding horses, providing general horse and people training. Some riding lesson programs maybe available. We only operate on and by appointments. Call and reserve your time with us. * See and meet U soon. Bruce.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Our Patterns & Who must change – Horse or Human

  1. Michele says:

    So good to hear from you again. Always good to hear about you and family and your business…and i reckon your well mannered horses and horsemanship skills are an excellent way to advertise..I catch Dennis Reis on RFDTV all the time..I like his work…i love the way he offers his services to everyone, he seems like a down to earth kinda guy.
     Im adding your space to an ad list of mine for marketing my work and other equine related work of my friends..do you have some tag words would like me to add to the description to drive folks to your site? tags such as words that describe what you do that ppl would be searching for on the internet. (horsemanship, natural horsemanship, training..etc.)
    I cant keep up with the world equine spaces after my business took off..im moving some of the links to my personal space where i can maintain it better.
    So glad you stopped by i always enjoy hearing rom you..patcher horses for me and say howdy to the miss n chilren for me from kansas wilya! Merry Christmas pal, from the Lonesome.

  2. J. says:

    Hi Bruce!!!
     
    Just gallopping by to Wish you and your family a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!!! You made an entry! I was really looking forward to this, lol, I love EVERYTHING abouthorses and horse training. Things are busy around here and I didn\’t have much time to spend with Apache, sniff….but next year is going to be different! I canceled some customers (it was just too much). What doas all this money good for you if you can\’t enjoy your life, eh? Sooo, I signed up for riding lessond at a cool ranch around here wich is called DJ Ranch, love it and then I am all set for Apache! I am so excited, lol.
    I will be back reading your entry when I have some time but right now I have to visit everyone and this takes time on dial-up, lol.
    The best to you and your family Bruce!
     
    Christmas Hugs,
    Jutta
     
    P.S.: Ride Save!!!

  3. Mountain says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family, Bruce.  We are all well.  The filly must have hurt her fetlock, but it has cleared up well.  Everyones hooves are good.  I have a misture I put on the soles of their hooves, frog and heel.  It really helps to have stalls for them at night to get them out of the mud.  I hope to trail ride Miss Minnie this week, weather permitting.  My friend Toni just bought a really nice double registered Pinto/Paint that is going to make her a terrific trail horse.  The training has come to a halt during the winter months except for ground work and manners.    Glad to hear your new place is coming along.  Penny

  4. Skip says:

    Hey Bruce….just thot I\’d stop by and say howdy….thanks for the comment….seems like we are a lot the same, I have not beeen blogging much lately…..I frequent the Dennis Reis Forum, and have been busy there…..anyhow, you take care and keep up the good work…Skip

  5. J. says:

    Hi Bruce!
    I love this entry! Sooo true, the horses Have US trained…..they are ALWAYS watching, yes you are right. Can\’t wait to read your next entry.
    Have a wonderful day!
     
    Jutta

  6. Steve says:

    Hi Bruce…
    Thanks for stopping by my space… I know its been a while since then.. I\’m sad to saythat on Febuary 9th my Dad past away at the age of 74. He grew up around horses and his first job on the farm was plowing fields with a team of horses. althogh he grew up with them later in life he never worked with horses again. Thats why my Mom wonders where my two sisters and my self got the urge to ride and own hores. i read your entre and it is so true… My boy Majic is always courious about what i\’m doing. Fortunatly for me my boy always wants to spend time with me and I don\’t have to chase him down..
    Well Bruce I hope you\’ll stop by my space again soon…
    Bye for now ….Steve

  7. Mountain says:

    I am curious, what type of bit do you like to ride a horse in.  Miss Minnie was used to an Egg Butt Snaffle and I have been riding her in a D-Ring Snaffle.  I want to keep her in something light.  Penny

  8. Mountain says:

    Thanks for your comments on the bit.  I love gathering information on how different folks do things.  The trainer I am working with has been really helpful, but I also TIVO lots of training shows and pick up things from everyone.  I have light hands and have been working with Miss Minnie to respond to shift of weight cues.  Unfortunately my corral is way too muddy to work in at the moment, so when I trail ride I try to keep on top of everything.  So far so good!!  Penny

  9. Michele says:

    Howdy just coming by to see whatcha been doin\’! Hope all is going well! 

  10. Skip says:

    Hey Bruce……..nice of you to stop by, and thanks for the comment…..I have been very busy with the horses, and they are coming along fine, am riding both now with little trouble, and am really enjoying it.   take care….  Skip

  11. Mountain says:

    Hello Bruce,  Thanks for saying hello.  We are all doing well.  My old QH may have to be put down this fall.  We are taking it day by day.  We just adopted a Rescue Samoyed.  I just posted some photos.  He is wonderful and will hopefully be a pal to Chief.  I have put Miss Minnie and Princess on diets.  I am going to set up more of a trail course and despooking course in our corral.  The filly is ready for some work also.  Later,  Penny

  12. Michele says:

    Hi pal im sure your not TOO into the social levels of blogland, but im doing this social thingy and didnt want to leave you out in case you would like to join in. 🙂  Hope your well!

    Special Invite Pal..

    About Show and Tell Saturday Hosted by the Lonesome Brand Blog: (michele)
     
    Do you have a something special to share? Maybe a special photo or trinket? Something from your childhood, or a special gift from a friend or even your friend. Maybe an antique find, book or anything you like.
    Your show and tell can be old or new. Use your imagination and dig through those old boxes in your closet if you have to! Feel free to share pictures and if there\’s a story behind your special something, that\’s even better!
     
    If your interested in joining in with us, please be sure to let me know by leaving a comment in my guest book sayin\’ "Count me In!", "WooHoo!!", "Alright! Im there" or whatever you like…lol. I would love to come and visit your Show and Tell Saturday Blog Post. Lets have some fun! Visit with others in my guest book who are also participating..See Saturday
    Michele @ the Lonesome Brand
     
    TELL YOUR FRIENDS~ Everyone Welcome!  

  13. Yours Truly says:

     
    Hi Bruce,
    What a nice Space you have here dedicated to horses, and not just their physical wellbeing but emotional as well.  You remark about horses being herd animals, and needing the social interaction of the herd got me to thinking about the many horses that are really just pets for people and live singly.  They must suffer from lack of horse companionship.  Thanks for your visit and comment.  It\’s great to meet new friends.  I hope your day is going well.
    Peace,
    ~Truly
     

Leave a comment